History

The eventful history of Klostergut Paradies in Schlatt (TG), situated on the idyllic banks of the Rhine, symbolizes the vicissitudes of time.

Originally founded as a convent, the complex was used entirely for farming in the early 20th century. This motivated the Swiss industrial company Georg Fischer (GF) to acquire the entire site in 1918 following the upheaval of the First World War. From that point on, agriculture and livestock farming improved the food supply of GF employees – an unusual measure even at the time.

The complex was restored on the occasion of the 150th anniversary of GF, and the Iron Library was established as a foundation of Georg Fischer AG in 1948. It is situated in the West wing of the convent building, and is open to the public.

2018

Anniversary eventAnniversary event, 2018

Anniversary: 100 years of GF at Klostergut Paradies.

2013-2014

Renovation in Klostergut ParadiesRenovation in Klostergut Paradies, 2013

The roof of the East, North and central wings of Klostergut Paradies, covering an area of 2'300 m2, is renovated at a cost of around 1.5 million Swiss francs. The Swiss federal government, the canton and the municipality contribute around a quarter of the renovation costs.

2004

The Thurgau Heritage Preservation Society presents its Heritage Preservation Award worth 5'000 Swiss francs to GF with its Paradies and Iron Library foundations. The award is presented in recognition of the significant merits of renovating and preserving the substance of the buildings as well as the cultural use of the former Paradies Clarissine convent. This is the first time that the award has been presented to an industrial company.

2003

Book: “A Look Inside Paradise” (“Ein Blick ins Paradies"Book: “A Look Inside Paradise” (“Ein Blick ins Paradies"), 2003

On 27 and 28 September, the Catholic parish of Paradies and GF celebrate the 750th anniversary of the Paradies convent, including a ceremony and a private exhibition of the book “A Look Inside Paradise” (“Ein Blick ins Paradies”, Monument Preservation in Thurgau, Volume 4).

2001-2002

St. Michael’s convent church in Paradies, which was almost completely converted to a baroque style between 1726 and 1728, is comprehensively renovated at a cost of more than 2.5 million Swiss francs. The project is financed for the most part by the parish renovation fund, the political municipality of Schlatt, the Monument Preservation Department of the Canton of Thurgau and the Swiss federal government as well as the regional Catholic church for the Canton of Thurgau. More money is secured in the form of contributions from foundations and donors, under the auspices of the “Friends of Paradies Convent Church”. The convent church is dedicated on 29 September 2002 in a two-day celebration that the entire population is invited to attend. Today the convent church is a cultural asset of national significance.

1998

Klostergut Paradies meeting roomKlostergut Paradies meeting room, 1952 (M. Wolgensinger)

The old people's apartments in the East wing are  replaced with four more meeting rooms.

7 July 1981

The Swiss Federal Council on a school trip to Klostergut ParadiesThe Swiss Federal Council on a school trip to Klostergut Paradies, 1981 (H. Hasler)

The Swiss national government visits Klostergut Paradies on 7 July 1981. The magistrates travel from St. Gallen to the tranquil environment of Lake Constance with the neighboring Rhine landscape. Klostergut Paradies is their last stop before returning to Bern.

“After taking a river boat from Stein am Rhein to Schaffhausen, the seven premiers, including the old and new Federal Chancellors, visited the Iron Library of Georg Fischer Aktiengesellschaft, with light refreshments (…) in the convent garden,” reported the Schaffhauser Nachrichten newspaper on 8 July. “The party cheerfully boarded the helicopter later than planned to fly to Bern via Rheinfall,” “GF intern” reports.

1977

Convention participants attend GF exhibitionConvention participants attend GF exhibition, 1977 (H. Erismann)

On the occasion of the company’s 175th anniversary, GF holds an extensive exhibition at the Paradies Training Center that draws around 45'000 visitors in the space of three months. A total of 5'000 GF products with a total value of 20 million Swiss francs are exhibited along a 400-meter exhibition route. The highlights include a textile machine in the cloister, a 175-ton steam turbine housing at the convent gate and a Pelton wheel with a diameter of five meters.

1975

Klostergut ParadiesKlostergut Paradies, 1958 (M. Graf)

GF establishes the Paradies Foundation. The foundation's purpose is described as follows: “The Foundation owns, manages and maintains Klostergut Paradies. The convent and its immediate surroundings will be preserved in their historical condition as a monument to Thurgau culture, and used for purposes that are appropriate to and worthy of its past”.

3 July, 1974

Training Center Open DayTraining Center Open Day, 1974 (H. Hasler)

GF opens the new Training Center. It is equipped with state-of-the-art teaching aids (for the time), and “bears comparison with any similar facility in Switzerland or elsewhere” (GF Zeitung). GF invests around three million Swiss francs in the renovation work between 1973 and 1974. The expenses for setting up the Training Center add up to around 2.6 million Swiss francs.

1974

Klostergut ParadiesKlostergut Paradies, 1946 (F. Baumann)

In 1974 GF fills out the boundaries of the convent by purchasing the land along the Rhine, including the Kreuz Restaurant (now called Paradies). The total area increases from 50 to around 77 hectares.

The restaurant is remodeled, and leisure and sport facilities are built on the banks of the river, which according to the employee publication of the time (“GF intern”), were partly the fruit of voluntary work in employees’ leisure time.

1952

Iron Library at Klostergut ParadiesIron Library at Klostergut Paradies, 1952 (M. Wolgensinger)

GF celebrates its 150th anniversary. This coincides with the 50th year with the company for Ernst Homberger, the long-standing general manager, delegate and president of GF’s Board of Directors.

The Iron Library in the convent’s former guest wing is ceremonially opened on 3 May 1952. It has remained open to this day to all interested parties, whether researchers or amateurs, for use and research.

1950-1952

Remodeling of KlostergutRemodeling of Klostergut, 1950

A total of around three million Swiss francs is spent on comprehensively renovating the entire convent complex for the approaching 150th anniversary.

The former guest wing of Klostergut Paradies is restored and converted into the Iron Library. A total of 32 deciduous and 8 coniferous  species from Switzerland and abroad are added to the convent garden.

1948

Overview of the estateOverview of the estate in an aerial photo, 1949

The GF Board of Directors found the Iron Library foundation at the former convent on 31 December 1948. A core stock of 10'000 titles is built up before the library is opened in 1952. These cover the history of metals, sciences, and technology in general.

1947

The Iron LibraryThe Iron Library, 1953 (F. Baumann)

In the run-up to GF's 150th anniversary in 1952, Director Ernst Müller suggests “creating a library of the literature on the working of iron, covering all forms of processing”. The idea behind it is that GF has grown for 150 years and become a large company from processing iron. The intent is to gift the public a place that preserves and maintains this knowledge in the company's anniversary year.

1946

First visit by a group of GF employeesFirst visit by a group of GF employees to Klostergut Paradies, 1946

The first official group of visitors to Klostergut Paradies: GF employees, who choose the estate as the destination for an outing.

1918

Farmhouse and farm of Klostergut ParadiesFarmhouse and farm of Klostergut Paradies, 1922

GF buys the estate with 50 hectares of agricultural land for 300'000 Swiss francs on 19 October 1918. The convent church and presbytery remain under the ownership of the Catholic parish of Schlatt.

The farm grows crops including cereals and sugar beet, and breeds livestock. A total of 13 homes for workers with between two and five rooms are built in the convent complex in 1919/1920.

Albert Gemperle-Beckh, President of GF’s Board of Directors at the time, explains the purchase by stating that “providing for personnel” is the primary motivation. GF is reportedly moving into industrial farming to “improve our workers’ nutrition”.

1253-1836

Commercial yard of Klostergut ParadiesCommercial yard of Klostergut Paradies, 1931

The establishment of the convent is made possible by the gifting of the land by Count Hartmann the Elder of Kyburg in 1253. Clarissine nuns relocate from Kloster Paradies near Constance. The town of Schaffhausen dissolves the convent during the Reformation in 1529. It is revived by nuns from Villingen in 1578. The convent complex is almost completely destroyed by fire in 1587. The reconstruction of the convent is completed in 1602. The Grand Council of Thurgau dissolves the convent in 1836.

Geschichte

Das Klostergut Paradies in Schlatt (TG), an den idyllischen Ufern des Rheins gelegen, symbolisiert mit seiner wechselvollen Geschichte den Wandel der Zeit.

Einst als Kloster gegründet, diente die Anlage Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts rein landwirtschaftlichen Zwecken. Diese Tatsache bewog das Schaffhauser Industrieunternehmen Georg Fischer (GF), im Jahre 1918 infolge der Wirren des Ersten Weltkriegs den gesamten Betrieb zu erwerben. Fortan sorgten Ackerbau und Viehwirtschaft dafür, die Versorgung der GF Mitarbeitenden zu verbessern, eine auch im damaligen Kontext aussergewöhnliche Massnahme. 

Anlässlich des 150-jährigen Jubiläums von GF wurde die Anlage restauriert und 1948 die Eisenbibliothek als Stiftung der Georg Fischer AG gegründet. Sie befindet sich im Westflügel des Klostergebäudes und ist für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.

2018

JubiläumsveranstaltungJubiläumsveranstaltung, 2018

Jubiläum 100 Jahre GF im Klostergut Paradies.

2013-2014

Renovierung im Klostergut ParadiesRenovierung im Klostergut Paradies, 2013

Auf einer Fläche von 2300 m2 wird das Dach des Ost-, des Nord- und des Mittelflügels im Klostergut Paradies für rund 1,5 Millionen Franken renoviert. Bund, Kanton und Gemeinde steuern rund einen Viertel zu den Renovationskosten bei.

2004

Der Thurgauer Heimatschutz verleiht den mit 5000 Franken dotierten Thurgauer Heimatschutzpreis an GF mit ihren Stiftungen Paradies und Eisenbibliothek. Damit werden die grossen Verdienste um die Renovation und Erhaltung der Bausubstanz und die kulturelle Nutzung des ehemaligen Klarissenklosters Paradies gewürdigt. Es ist das erste Mal, dass diese Auszeichnung einem Industrieunternehmen verliehen wird.

2003

Buch "Ein Blick ins Paradies"Buch "Ein Blick ins Paradies", 2003

Am 27. und 28. September feiern die katholische Kirchgemeinde Paradies und GF gemeinsam das 750-Jahr-Jubiläum des Klosters Paradies, unter anderem mit einem Festakt und der Vernissage des Buches «Ein Blick ins Paradies» (Denkmalpflege im Thurgau, Band 4).

2001-2002

Die zwischen 1726 und 1728 fast vollständig im Stile des Barocks umgestaltete Klosterkirche St. Michael im Paradies wird für mehr als 2,5 Millionen Franken umfassend renoviert. Finanziert wird das Projekt grösstenteils durch den Renovationsfonds der Kirchgemeinde, der Politischen Gemeinde Schlatt, der Denkmalpflege des Kantons Thurgau und des Bundes sowie der katholischen Landeskirche des Kantons Thurgau. Weitere Gelder werden unter Federführung des «Vereins der Freunde der Klosterkirche Paradies» durch Beiträge von Stiftungen und Gönnern sichergestellt. Am 29. September 2002 wird die Klosterkirche im Rahmen eines zweitägigen Festes eingeweiht, zu dem die ganze Bevölkerung eingeladen ist. Die Klosterkirche ist heute ein Kulturgut von nationaler Bedeutung.

1998

Sitzungszimmer Klostergut ParadiesSitzungszimmer Klostergut Paradies, 1952 (M. Wolgensinger)

Die Alterswohnungen im Ostflügel werden aufgehoben. An ihrer Stelle werden vier weitere Sitzungszimmer eingerichtet.

7. Juli 1981

Bundesrat auf seiner Schulreise im Klostergut ParadiesDer Bundesrat auf seiner Schulreise im Klostergut Paradies, 1981 (H. Hasler)

Am 7. Juli 1981 besucht die schweizerische Landesregierung das Klostergut Paradies. Die Magistraten reisen von St. Gallen in den Erholungsraum Bodensee mit der angrenzenden Rheinlandschaft. Das Klostergut Paradies ist die letzte Station vor ihrer Rückreise nach Bern.
«Nach einer Stromfahrt von Stein am Rhein nach Schaffhausen besuchten die sieben Landesväter samt altem und neuem Bundeskanzler die Eisenbibliothek der Georg Fischer Aktiengesellschaft und nahmen (…) im Klostergarten einen kleinen Imbiss», resümieren die «Schaffhauser Nachrichten» am 8. Juli. «Später als geplant bestiegen die gutgelaunten Herren die Helikopter, um via Rheinfall nach Bern zu fliegen», berichtet «GF intern».

1977

Teilnehmer einer TagungTeilnehmer einer Tagung besuchen GF Leistungsschau, 1977 (H. Erismann)

Aus Anlass des 175-Jahr-Jubiläums des Unternehmens veranstaltet GF im Ausbildungszentrum Paradies eine umfassende Leistungsschau, die innerhalb dreier Monate rund 45 000 Besucherinnen und Besucher anzieht. Ausgestellt werden auf einem 400 Meter langen Ausstellungsparcours insgesamt 5000 GF Produkte mit einem Gesamtwert von 20 Millionen Franken. Zu den Highlights zählen eine Textilmaschine im Kreuzgang, ein 175 Tonnen schweres Dampfturbinengehäuse an der Klosterpforte, aber auch ein Peltonrad mit fünf Metern Durchmesser.

1975

Klostergut ParadiesKlostergut Paradies, 1958 (M. Graf)

GF gründet die Stiftung Paradies. Der Stiftungszweck wird wie folgt umschrieben: «Die Stiftung besitzt, verwaltet und unterhält das Klostergut Paradies. Das Kloster und seine unmittelbare Umgebung soll in seinem historischen Bestand als Thurgauer Kulturdenkmal erhalten bleiben und zu Zwecken verwendet werden, die seiner Vergangenheit angemessen und würdig sind.»

3. Juli 1974

Tag der offenen Tür im AusbildungszentrumTag der offenen Tür im Ausbildungszentrum des Klosterguts, 1974 (H. Hasler)

GF eröffnet das neugeschaffene Ausbildungszentrum. Es ist – für damalige Verhältnisse – mit modernsten Unterrichtshilfsmitteln ausgestattet und «hält jedem Vergleich mit ähnlichen Anlagen im In- und Ausland stand» (GF Zeitung). In die baulichen Erneuerungen investiert GF in den Jahren 1973 und 1974 rund drei Millionen Franken; die Aufwendungen für die Einrichtung des Ausbildungszentrums schlagen mit rund 2,6 Millionen Franken zu Buche.

1974

Klostergut ParadiesKlostergut Paradies, 1946 (F. Baumann)

Im Jahr 1974 arrondiert GF den Klosterbezirk mit dem Kauf der Ländereien am Rhein einschliesslich des Restaurants Kreuz (dieses heisst heute Paradies). Die gesamte Landfläche von bisher 50 wächst auf neu rund 77 Hektaren.

Das Restaurant wird umgebaut, und am Rhein werden Freizeit- und Sportanlagen errichtet, die laut der damaligen Mitarbeiterpublikation «GF intern» zum Teil in der Freizeit durch Fronarbeit erstellt wurden.

1952

EisenbibliothekEisenbibliothek im Klostergut Paradies, 1952 (M. Wolgensinger)

GF feiert sein 150-Jahr-Firmenjubiläum. Dieses fällt zeitlich mit dem 50-Jahr-Dienstjubiläum von Ernst Homberger zusammen, dem langjährigen Generaldirektor, Delegierten und Präsidenten des Verwaltungsrats von GF.

Die Eisenbibliothek im ehemaligen Gästetrakt des Klosters wird am 3. Mai 1952 feierlich eröffnet. Bis heute steht sie allen Interessierten, Wissenschaftlern wie Amateuren, zur Benutzung und Forschung offen.

1950-1952

Umbau KlostergutUmbau Klostergut, 1950

Mit einem Gesamtaufwand von rund drei Millionen Franken wird die gesamte Klosteranlage im Hinblick auf das anstehende 150-Jahr-Jubiläum umfassend renoviert.

Der ehemalige Gästetrakt des Klosterguts Paradies wird restauriert und zur Eisenbibliothek umgebaut. Der Klostergarten wird mit Baumsorten aus dem In- und Ausland angereichert: Insgesamt sind 32 Laubbaum- und 8 Nadelholzarten vertreten.

1948

Klostergut ParadiesGesamtansicht Klostergut in einer Flugaufnahme, 1949

Am 31. Dezember 1948 gründet der GF-Verwaltungs-rat im ehemaligen Kloster die Stiftung Eisen-bibliothek. Bis zur Eröffnung der Bibliothek 1952 wird ein Grundstock von 10'000 Titeln aufgebaut. Diese umfassen die Geschichte der Metalle, der Naturwissenschaften und der Technik allgemein.

1947

EisenbibliothekEisenbibliothek, 1953 (F. Baumann)

Im Hinblick auf das 150-Jahr-Jubiläum von GF 1952 regt Direktor Ernst Müller an, «eine Bibliothek der alten Literatur über die Verarbeitung des Eisens zu errichten, umfassend alle Formen der Verarbeitung». Der Grundgedanke: GF ist 150 Jahre lang mit der Eisenbearbeitung gewachsen und gross geworden. Im Jubiläumsjahr will man sich und der Öffentlich-keit einen Ort schenken, der dieses Wissen bewahrt und pflegt.

1946

Gruppe von GF MitarbeiterinnenErster Besuch einer Gruppe von GF Mitarbeiterinnen im Klostergut Paradies, 1946

Die erste offizielle Besuchergruppe im Klostergut Paradies: Mitarbeiterinnen von GF, die das Klostergut als Ausflugsziel wählen.

1918

Bauernhaus und Wirtschaftstrakt Bauernhaus und Wirtschaftstrakt des Klosterguts Paradies, 1922

Für 300'000 Franken kauft GF am 19. Oktober 1918 das Klostergut mit 50 Hektaren Landwirtschaftsfläche. Die Klosterkirche und das Pfarrhaus bleiben im Besitz der katholischen Pfarrgemeinde von Schlatt.

Im Landwirtschaftsbetrieb werden unter anderem Getreide und Zuckerrüben angebaut sowie Viehzucht betrieben. 1919/1920 entstehen in der Klosteranlage insgesamt 13 Arbeiterwohnungen mit zwei bis fünf Zimmern.

Albert Gemperle-Beckh, damaliger Verwaltungsratspräsident von GF, erläutert die Überlegungen zum Kauf: Primäre Motivation sei die «Fürsorge für das Personal». Mit der Aufnahme der industriellen Landwirtschaft wolle GF «die Lebensmittelversorgung unserer Arbeiterschaft» verbessern.

1253-1836

Wirtschaftshof Wirtschaftshof des Klosterguts Paradies, 1931

Die Schenkung von Land im Jahr 1253 durch Graf Hartmann den Älteren von Kyburg macht die Gründung des Klosters möglich. Aus dem Kloster Paradies bei Konstanz siedeln Nonnen des Klarissenordens um. 1529 hebt die Stadt Schaffhausen das Kloster während der Reformation auf. 1578 wird es durch Nonnen aus Villingen wiederbelebt. 1587 zerstört ein Brand fast die ganze Klosteranlage. Der Neubau des Klosters wird 1602 vollendet. 1836 hebt der thurgauische Grosse Rat das Kloster auf.