The Klostergut Paradies in 1974

In 1974 GF fills out the boundaries of the convent by purchasing the land along the Rhine, including the Kreuz Restaurant (now called Paradies). The total area increases from 50 to around 77 hectares.

The restaurant is remodeled, and leisure and sport facilities are built on the banks of the river, which according to the employee publication of the time (“GF intern”), were partly the fruit of voluntary work in employees’ leisure time.

Klostergut Paradies, 1946 (F. Baumann)

3 July, 1974

GF opens the new Training Center. It is equipped with state-of-the-art teaching aids (for the time), and “bears comparison with any similar facility in Switzerland or elsewhere” (GF Zeitung). GF invests around three million Swiss francs in the renovation work between 1973 and 1974. The expenses for setting up the Training Center add up to around 2.6 million Swiss francs.

Training Center Open Day, 1974 (H. Hasler)

Das Klostergut Paradies im Jahre 1974

Im Jahr 1974 arrondiert GF den Klosterbezirk mit dem Kauf der Ländereien am Rhein einschliesslich des Restaurants Kreuz (dieses heisst heute Paradies). Die gesamte Landfläche von bisher 50 wächst auf neu rund 77 Hektaren.

Das Restaurant wird umgebaut, und am Rhein werden Freizeit- und Sportanlagen errichtet, die laut der damaligen Mitarbeiterpublikation «GF intern» zum Teil in der Freizeit durch Fronarbeit erstellt wurden.

Klostergut Paradies, 1946 (F. Baumann)

GF eröffnet das neugeschaffene Ausbildungszentrum. Es ist – für damalige Verhältnisse – mit modernsten Unterrichtshilfsmitteln ausgestattet und «hält jedem Vergleich mit ähnlichen Anlagen im In- und Ausland stand» (GF Zeitung). In die baulichen Erneuerungen investiert GF in den Jahren 1973 und 1974 rund drei Millionen Franken; die Aufwendungen für die Einrichtung des Ausbildungszentrums schlagen mit rund 2,6 Millionen Franken zu Buche.

Tag der offenen Tür im Ausbildungszentrum des Klosterguts, 1974 (H. Hasler)